36th Annual Plenary Meeting

Family photo

The InterAction Council held its 36th Annual Plenary Meeting in Cartagena, Colombia, from 14 to 16 May 2019.

This meeting was comprised of the following sessions:

  • Present State of the World with focus on Venezuela
  • Durable and Ethical Solutions for Migrants and Refugees
  • Human Development: The Arctic, Climate Change and Indicators of Sustainability
  • Beyond Smart Cities: The Wise Cities of the Future

InterAction Council Members

  1. The Hon. Bertie Ahern, Co-Chairman (former Prime Minister), Ireland
  2. H.E. Mr. Olusegun Obasanjo, Co-Chairman (former President), Nigeria
  3. H.E. Mr. Andrés Pastrana, Organizing Chairman (former President), Colombia
  4. The Rt. Hon. James Bolger (former Prime Minister), New Zealand
  5. H.E. Dr. Gro Brundtland (former Prime Minister), Norway
  6. H.E. Dr. Lawrence Gonzi (former Prime Minister), Malta
  7. H.E. Mr. Kabiné Komara (former Prime Minister), Guinea
  8. H.E. Mr. Luis Alberto Lacalle (former President), Uruguay
  9. The Rt. Hon. Sir James Mitchell (former Prime Minister), Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  10. H.E. Mr. Jorge Quiroga (former President), Bolivia
  11. H.E. Dr. Danilo Türk (former President), Slovenia
  12. H.E. Mr. Viktor Yushchenko (former President), Ukraine

Associate Members

  1. H.E. Mr. Prithviraj Chavan, 17th Chief Minister of Maharashtra (India)
  2. H.E. Prof. Dr. Vesna Pusić, MP, Former Minister of Foreign and European Affairs and First Deputy Prime Minister (Croatia)


  1. Dr. Thomas Axworthy, Chair of Public Policy, Massey College, University of Toronto (Canada)

Special Guests

  1. Mrs. Kateryna Yushchenko, Chair, Ukraine 3000 International Foundation (Ukraine)
  2. Ms. Xiomara Acevedo, International Relations Professional; One Young World Ambassador (Colombia)
  3. Mr. Mark Anielski, President and Chief Well-being Officer, Anielski Management Inc. (Canada)
  4. Mr. Sebastián Arévalo Sánchez, Co-founder and CEO, Fundación Pasos Libres; One Young World Ambassador (Colombia)
  5. Dr. Arne Olav Brundtland, Researcher and Specialist in Security Policies and “Nordic Balance” (Norway)
  6. Mr. Neil Desai, Vice President, Magnet Forensics (Canada)
  7. Mr. Mamadou Pathe DiengPresident, Université Ahmadou Dieng (Guinea)
  8. Mr. Daniel Duque-Velasquez, One Young World Ambassador (Colombia)
  9. Ms. Carolina Garcia Arbelaez, Sustainability Manager, AB InBev; One Young World Ambassador (Colombia)
  10. Ms. Nchimunya Hamukoma, Researcher, The Brenthurst Foundation (South Africa)
  11. Dr. Alejandro (Alex) R. Jadad, Director, Institute for Global Health Equity and Innovation; Founder, Centre for Global eHealth Innovation; Professor, Dalla Lana School of Public Health, University of Toronto (Canada)
  12. Ms. Meredith KravitzEcosystem Manager, ID2020 (Canada)
  13. Dr. Milorad Kovacevic, Chief Statistician, UNDP (Canada)
  14. Mr. Sebastián Lanz Sánchez, Co-founder, Temblores NGO (Colombia)
  15. Ms. Laura Palmese, Environmental Law Consultant, Environmental Law Alliance Worldwide (ELAW); One Young World Ambassador (Honduras)
  16. Prof. Mariano Rojas, Professor of Economics at Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales, Sede México and at Universidad Popular Autónoma del Estado de Puebla (Mexico)
  17. Ms. Maria Rueda, Forensic Psychologist, Fiscalía General de la Nación; One Young World Ambassador (Colombia)
  18. Dr. Jeffrey WilsonAssistant Professor, University of Waterloo; Director, Terrametrics Research Lab (Canada)