Enlightened Leadership and Human Responsibility

10-11 May 2000

Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass. USA

Co-chaired by Helmut Schmidt and Abdel Salam Majali

List of Participants

InterAction Council Members
1. H.E. Chancellor Helmut Schmidt (Honorary Chairman)
2. H.E. Prime Minister Abdul Salam Majali
3. H.E. President José Sarney

High-level Experts
4. Mr. Yasushi Akashi, former U.N. Undersecretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs and Emergency Relief Coordinator
5. Ambassador Adrian Basora, Eisenhower Exchange Fellowships
6. Dr. Joanne B. Ciulla, Professor, Coston Family Chair of Leadership and Ethics, Jepson School of Leadership Studies, University of Richmond and UNESCO Chair in Leadership Studies, United Nations International Leadership Acadamy, Jordan
7. Lord Bernard Donoughue of Ashton, Visiting Professor in Government, London School of Economics
8. Dr. David Gergen, Co-Director, Center for Public Leadership, Harvard University
9. Mr. Kennedy Graham, Director, The United Nations University International Leadership Academy
10. Prof. Ronald Heifetz, Co-Director, Center for Public Leadership, Harvard University
11. Dr. Richard Jolly, Special Advisor to the Administrator and Architect of the Human Development Report, UNDP
12. Dr. Barbara Kellerman, Director, Center for the Advanced Study of Leadership, The James MacGregor Burns Academy of Leadership
13. Mr. William P. Laughlin, U.S. entrepreneur
14. Prof. Harold J. Leavitt, professor emeritus, Stanford Graduate School of Business
15. Mr. Michael A. Ledeen, former national security adviser to the U.S. President, and Resident Scholar in the Freedom Chair, American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research
16. Prof. Jean Lipman-Blumen, former Special Advisor to the Domestic Policy Staff in the White House, and Thorton F. Bradshaw Professor of Public Policy, Peter F. Drucker Graduate School of Management, Claremont Graduate University
17. Dr. Joseph Nye Jr., Don K. Price Professor of Public Policy and Dean, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University
18. Prof. Amin Saikal, Director, Centre for Arab and Islamic Studies, Australian National University
19. Prof. Anne-Marie Slaughter, Founding J. Sinclair Armstrong Professor of International, Foreign and Comparative Law, Harvard Law School
20. Prof. Tu Wei-ming, Professor of Chinese History and Philosophy and of Confucian Studies, Harvard University and Director, Harvard-Yenching Institute
21. Ms. Flora Lewis, International Herald Tribune

1. Ms. Laura Liswood, Secretary General, Council of Women World Leaders
2. Motoyoshi Noro, Special Advisor on Partnerships/Japan Affairs, UNDP