28th Annual Plenary Meeting

Plenary session

From 18-20 April 2010, the InterAction Council held its 28th Annual Plenary Meeting in Hiroshima, Japan

List of Participants

IAC Members
1. H.E. Mr. Helmut Schmidt, Honorary Chairman (former Chancellor of Germany) (by video participation)
2. H.E. Mr. Malcolm Fraser, Honorary Chairman (former Prime Minister of Australia)
3. H.E. Mr. Ingvar Carlsson, Co-chairman (former Prime Minister of Sweden)
4. H.E. Mr. Jean Chrétien, Co-chairman (former Prime Minister of Canada)
5. H.E. Mr. Andreas van Agt (former Prime Minister of the Netherlands)
6. H.E. Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi (former Prime Minister of Malaysia)
7. H.E. Mr. Yasuo Fukuda (former Prime Minister of Japan)
8. H.E. Mr. Goh Chok Tong (former Prime Minister of the Republic of Singapore)
9. H.E. Mr. Lee Hong-Koo (former Prime Minister of Korea)
10. H.E. Mr. Abdel Salam Majali (former Prime Minister of Jordan)
11. Sir James Fitz-Allen Mitchell (former Prime Minister of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines)
12. H.E. Mr. Benjamin William Mkapa (former President of Tanzania)
13. H.E. Mr. Tomiichi Murayama (former Prime Minister of Japan) (ad hoc member)
14. H.E. Mr. Tung Chee Hwa (former Chief Executive, Hong Kong Administration)
15. H.E. Mr. Franz Vranitzky (former Chancellor of Austria)

Associate Members
16. H.E. Sheikh Abdul-Aziz Z. Al-Quraishi, former Governor of SAMA (Central Bank) (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)
17. Prof. Thomas Axworthy, Chair of the Centre for the Study of Democracy, Queen’s University (Canada)
18. H.E. Mr. Jean André François-Poncet, President of the Senatorial Committee on Regional Planning (France)
19. Dr. Lee Seung-yun, former Deputy-Prime Minister (Korea)
20. Mr. Seiken Sugiura, former Minister of Justice (Japan)

Special Guests
21. Dr. Tadatoshi Akiba, Mayor of the city of Hiroshima (Japan)
22. Dr. Abdulrahman H. Al-Saeed, Advisor – The Royal Court, President of Center for Specialized Studies (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)
23. Dr. Hans Blix, former Chairman of the UN Monitoring, Verification and Inspection Commission (Sweden)
24. H.E.Mr. Luiz Augusto de Castro Neves, (Representing Mr. José Sarney), Ambassador of Brazil to Japan (Brazil)
25. Mr. Sam Nunn, former US Senator and Chairman of the Senate Armed Services Committee (USA)
26. His Eminence Monshu Koshin Ohtani, Past President of Japan Buddhist Federation, Monshu of Jodo Shinshu Hongwanji-ha (Japan)
27. Ambassador Alexander Panov, (Representing Mr. Yevgeny Primakov), Rector of Diplomatic Academy of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Russia)
28. Dr. Shen Dingli, Director of Center for American Studies, Executive Dean of Institute of International Studies, Fudan University (China)
29. Mr. Masajuro Shiokawa, former Minister of Finance (Japan)
30. Mr. Jitsuro Terashima, Chairman, Japan Research Institute (Japan)
31. Mr. Karsten D. Voigt, (Representing Honorary Chairman Helmut Schmidt), former Coordinator of German-North American Cooperation at the German Federal Foreign Office (Germany)

High-level Experts
32. Dr. Rebecca E. Johnson, Executive Director of the Acronym Institute for Disarmament Diplomacy (UK)
33. Prof. Katsuko Kataoka, Professor Emeritus, Hiroshima University (Japan)
34. Dr. Tilman Ruff, Chair of International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (Australia)
35. Dr. Randy Rydell, Senior Political Affairs Officer, Office of the High Representative for Disarmament Affairs, United Nations (UN)

The following leaders intended participation in the 28th Annual Meeting but were forced to cancel their travel due to a domestic political reason or the Icelandic volcanic eruption:
36. H.E. Mr. Seyed Mohammad Khatami (former President), Islamic Republic of Iran
37. H.E. Mr. Olusegun Obasanjo (former President), Nigeria
38. H.E. Mr. Jerry John Rawlings (former Head of State), Republic of Ghana
39. Baroness Jay, Chairperson of the Overseas Development Institute, London, UK
40. Lord David Owen, (former Foreign Minister), UK

The InterAction Council extends its warmest appreciation to the generous support of the Governments of Australia, Canada, Japan and Korea as well as of the Prefecture and the City of Hiroshima.