33rd Annual Plenary Meeting

Intervention by Tom Axworthy

The InterAction Council held its 33rd Annual Plenary Meeting in Baku, Azerbaijan, from 8 to 9 March 2016.

This meeting was comprised of the following sessions:

  • Present State of the World
  • New Realities for Global Health Security
  • Iran and the New Middle East
  • The Future of Work in the 21st Century: Jobs, Technology, and Youth Employment


InterAction Council Members

1.     The Rt. Hon. Jean Chrétien, Co-Chairman (former Prime Minister), Canada

2.     H.E. Mr. Olusegun Obasanjo, Co-Chairman (former President), Nigeria

3.     H.E. Mr. Bertie Ahern (former Prime Minister), Ireland

4.     H.E. Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi (former Prime Minister), Malaysia

5.     The Rt. Hon. James Bolger (former Prime Minister), New Zealand

6.     H.E. Dr. Gro Harlem Brundtland (former Prime Minister), Norway

7.     H.E. Dr. Abdel Salam Majali (former Prime Minister), Jordan

8.     H.E. Mr. Péter Medgyessy (former Prime Minister), Hungary

9.     The Rt. Hon. Sir James Mitchell (former Prime Minister), Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

10.  H.E. Mr. Benjamin Mkapa (former President), Tanzania

11.  H.E. Mr. Andrés Pastrana (former President), Colombia

12.  H.E. Mr. Konstantinos Simitis (former Prime Minister), Greece

13.  H.E. Dr. George Vassiliou (former President), Cyprus

14.  H.E. Dr. Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga (former President), Latvia

15.  H.E. Mr. Viktor Yushchenko (former President), Ukraine

16.  H.E. Dr. Viktor Zubkov (former Prime Minister), Russia

Nizami Ganjavi International Center Members

17.  Mr. Franco Frattini, former Minister of Foreign Affairs (Italy)

18.  H.E. Mr. Sadiq Al-Mahdi (former Prime Minister), Sudan

19.  Dr. Ismail Serageldin, Co-Chair, Nizami Ganjavi International Center

20.  H.E. Mr. Petar Stoyanov (former President), Bulgaria

21.  H.E. Mr. Boris Tadić (former President), Serbia


22.   Dr. Thomas Axworthy, Distinguished Senior Fellow, Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto (Canada)

Associate Members

23.  Mr. Bill F. Weld, former Governor of Massachusetts (U.S.A.)

Special Guests

24.  Prof. Robert Austin, Associate Professor, Centre for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies, Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto (Canada)

25.  Dr. Arne Olav Brundtland, Researcher and Specialist in Security Policies and “Nordic Balance” (Norway)

26.  Ms. Brenda Bury, Renowned Portrait Artist (Canada)

27.  Prof. Anthony Capon, Director, International Institute for Global Health, United Nations University (Australia)

28.  Dr. (Mrs.) Obiageli (Oby) Ezekwesili, Senior Economic Advisor, Africa Economic Development and Policy Initiative, Abuja (Nigeria)

29.  Prof. Thomas Juneau, Assistant Professor, Graduate School of Public and International Affairs, University of Ottawa (Canada)

30.  Prof. Aira Kalela, Senior Advisor, Office of President Halonen (Finland)

31.  Lt. Gen. Louis Lillywhite, Senior Research Fellow, Chatham House Centre for Global Health Security (U.K.)

32.  Dr. Sawsan Abdul Salam Majali, Secretary General, Jordanian Higher Population Council (Jordan)

33.  Dr. John Wyn Owen, Senior Global Health Advisor, InterAction Council; Chair, Health Protection Committee, Wales; Treasurer, Learned Society of Wales (U.K.)

34.  Prof. The Hon. John Polanyi, Faculty Member and Nobel Laureate, Department of Chemistry, University of Toronto; Founding Chairman, Canadian Pugwash Group (Canada)

35.  Mr. Bob Sandford, IAC Senior Water Advisor; EPCOR Chair of the Canadian Partnership Initiative in support of the United Nations Water for Life Decade (Canada)

36.  Mrs. Androulla Vassiliou, former European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth (Cyprus)

37.  Dr. Moneef Zou’bi, Director General, Islamic World Academy of Sciences (Jordan)

The InterAction Council extends its warmest appreciation for the generous support of the Nizami Ganjavi International Center, Public Health Wales and the Learned Society of Wales.