The Islamic World and the West

27-28 April 2006

International Leadership Institute, United Nations University

Amman, Jordan

Co-chaired by Ingvar Carlsson, Co-chairman and Abdel Salam Majali, Organizing Chairman

List of Participants

IAC Members

1.    H. E. Prime Minister Ingvar Carlsson, Co-chairman (Sweden)

2.    H. E. President Bacharuddin Jusuf Habibie (Indonesia)

3.    H. E. Prime Minister AbdelSalam Majali, Organizing Chairman (Jordan)

High-Level Experts

4.     H.E. Ambassador Tatsuo Arima, Special Envoy of the Government of Japan for the Middle East (Japan)

5.     H.E. Mr. Bassem Awadallah, Director of His Majesty’s Office (Jordan)

6.     Dr. Mohamed Ali Elgari, Professor, King Abdulaziz University (Saudi Arabia)

7.     Dr. Richard Falk, Visiting Professor, University of California, Santa Barbara (U. S. A.)

8.      H. E. Mr. Sami Gammouh, Former Minister of Finance (Jordan)

9.      H. E. Dr. Munther Haddadin, Former Minister of Water and Irrigation (Jordan)

10.    Dr. Rosemary Hollis, Director of Research, Chatham House (U. K)

11.     H.E. Mr. Kunio Katakura, Former Ambassador to Egypt and Iraq (Japan)

12.     Mr. Julius Liljeström, Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Sweden)

13.     Dr. Laurence Löuer, Research Fellow, Center for International Studies and Research,  Professor, National Foundation for Political Sciences (France)

14.      H. E. Dr. Amin Mahmoud, Former Minister of Culture (Jordan)

15.      H. E. Mr. Samer Majali, CEO and President of the Royal Jordanian Airlines (Jordan)

16.      Mr. Fouad Makhzoumi, Founder, The Future Millennium Foundation, The Makhzoumi Foundation and the National Dialogue Party (Lebanon)

17.     Prof. Moshe Maoz, Deputy Director, Dan Abraham Center for Strategic Dialogue (Israel)

18.     H. E. Mr. Taher Masri, Former Prime Minister (Jordan)

19.     H.E. Mr. Maher Masri, Former Minister of Trade and Industry (Palestine)

20.     Dr. Ahmad Moussalli, Professor, American University of Beirut (Lebanon)

21.     H. E. Mr. Hassan Abu Nimah, Former Head of the Permanent Mission of Jordan to the UN, Director of the Royal Institute for Interfaith Studies (Jordan)

22.     Dr. Volker Perthes, Director of the German Institute for International and Security Studies (Germany)

23.     Dr. Jairam Reddy, Director, International Leadership Institute, United Nations University (South Africa)

24.     Mr. Ayman Safadi, Editor-in-Chief of the Daily Al-Ghad Newspaper (Jordan)

25.     Prof. Amin Saikal, Director, Centre for Arab and Islamic Studies, The Middle East & Central Asia, Faculty of Arts, Australian National University (Australia)

26.    H. E. Mr. Nabiih Shequem, Secretary-General and Director of the American and European Affairs Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Jordan)

27.    Dr. Samir Taqi, Strategic Research Center at Damascus University (Syria)

28.    Dr. Walid Turk, Former Dean of the Faculty of Pharmaceuticals (Jordan)

29.    Mr. Wang Shijie, Special Envoy for Middle East Affairs (China)

30.    Mr. Mouayad Windawi, Research Consultant, Special Representative Secretary-General’s Office, UNAMI (UN)

31.    Mr. Moneef R. Zou’bi, Director General, Islamic World Academy of Sciences (Jordan)


32.    H.E. Mr. Makram Queisi, Chief of Protocol, Foreign Ministry (Jordan)

33.    H.E. Prof. Nagao Hyodo, IAC Deputy Secretary-General, Tokyo Keizai University (Japan)

The InterAction Council extends its warmest appreciation to the Government of Jordan and the International Leadership Institute of the United Nations University for hosting the High-Level Expert Group Meeting at Amman, Jordan as well as the Government of Japan and Korea for their continuous generous support.