15th Annual Plenary Meeting

The InterAction Council held its 15th Annual Plenary Meeting in Noordwijk, The Netherlands, from 1-4 June 1997.

List of Participants

Helmut Schmidt, Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany, 1974 - 1982
Andries A.M. van Agt, Prime Minister of the Netherlands, 1977 - 1982
Oscar Arias Sanchez, President of Costa Rica, 1986 - 1990
Lord Callaghan of Cardiff, Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, 1976 - 1979
Jimmy Carter, President of the United States, 1977 - 1981
Miguel de la Madrid Hurtado, President of Mexico, 1982 - 1988
Malcolm Fraser, Prime Minister of Australia, 1975 - 1983
Kurt Furgler, President of the Swiss Confederation, 1977, 1981, 1985
Felipe Gonzalez Marquez, Prime Minister of Spain, 1982 - 1996
Kenneth Kaunda, President of Zambia, 1964 - 1991
Kiichi Miyazawa, Prime Minister of Japan, 1991 - 1993
Maria de Lourdes Pintasilgo, Prime Minister of Portugal, 1979 - 1980
José Sarney, President of Brazil, 1985 - 1990
Shin Hyon Hwak, Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea, 1979 - 1980
Kalevi Sorsa, Prime Minister of Finland, 1972 - 75, 1977 - 79, 1982 - 87
Pierre Elliott Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada, 1968 - 1979, 1980 - 1984
Ola Ullsten, Prime Minister of Sweden, 1978 - 1979
George Vassiliou, President of Cyprus, 1988 - 1993

Special Guests
Thomas S. Axworthy, Professor, Harvard University
Ajay Chhibber, Staff Director WDR, the World Bank
Hans Küng, Professor, Tübingen University
Lee Seung-Yun, Former Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Economic Planning Board of the Republic of Korea
Seiken Sugiura, Member, House of Representatives of Japan
Koji Watanabe, Former Ambassador of Japan to Russia
Wu Xuequian, Vice Chairman, Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference
Alexander Yakovlev, Former Member, Presidential Council of the Soviet Union

Invited Journalists
Nagaharu Hayabusa, The Asahi Shimbun
Cushrow Irani, The Statesman
Flora Lewis, International Herald Tribune

Isamu Miyazaki, Former State Minister, Economic Planning Agency of Japan

Organizing Chairman
Jaap Rost Onnes, Executive Vice President, ABN AMRO Bank