16th Annual Plenary Meeting

The InterAction Council held its 16th Annual Plenary Meeting in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, from 3-5 May 1998.

List of Participants

Helmut Schmidt, Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany, 1974 -1982
Andries A.M. van Agt, Prime Minister of the Netherlands, 1976 - 1979
Oscar Arias Sanchez, President of Costa Rica, 1986 - 1990
Miguel de la Madrid Hurtado, President of Mexico, 1982 - 1988
Vigdís Finnbogadóttir,  former President of Iceland, 1980-1996
Malcolm Fraser, Prime Minister of Australia, 1975 - 1983
Kurt Furgler, President of the Swiss Confederation, 1977, 1981, 1985
Kiichi Miyazawa, Prime Minister of Japan, 1991 - 1993
José Sarney, President of Brazil, 1985 - 1990
Pierre Elliott Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada, 1968 - 1979, 1980 - 1984
Ola Ullsten, Prime Minister of Sweden, 1978 - 1979

Special Guests
Persio Arida, former President of the Federal Reserve of Brazil
Jack Austin, Senator of Canada
Roberto Campos, Federal Deputy for the Senate of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Helio Jaguaribe, Professor, Institute of Political and Social Studies, Brazil
Song Jian, Vice Chairman of the National Committee of the Chinese
People’s Political Consultative Conference
Seung-Yun Lee, Former Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Economic
Planning Board of the Republic of Korea
Robert S. McNamara, former President, World Bank
Sergio Mota, General Coordinator, Foundation of Economic Culture, Mexico
Seung-Keun Rhee, Professor, The Catholic University of Korea
Antonio Olinto, Professor and author
J.J.N. Rost Onnes, Executive Vice President, ABN AMRO Bank, The Netherlands
Paulo Paiva, Minister for Planning, Brazil
Ruy Pereira, Representative of the Ministry for Industry, Trade & Tourism, Brazil
Paulo Rabello de Castro, President of the Atlantic Institute
João Paulo dos Reis Veloso, former Minister of the Treasury, Brazil
Seiken Sugiura, Member, House of Representatives of Japan
Vadim Zagladin, Director, Gorbachev Foundation
Invited Journalists
Flora Lewis, International Herald Tribune
Elio Gaspari, O GLOBO
Merval Pereira, O GLOBO
Nagaharu Hayabusa, The Asahi Shimbun

Isamu Miyazaki, Former State Minister, Economic Planning Agency of Japan