17th Annual Plenary Meeting

Family photo

The InterAction Council held its 17th Annual Plenary Meeting in Cairo, Egypt, from 23-25 May 1999.


Malcolm Fraser, Prime Minister of Australia, 1975-1983
Miguel de la Madrid Hurtado, President of Mexico, 1982-1988
Kurt Furgler, President of the Swiss Confederation, 1977, 1981, 1985
Valery Giscard d’Estaing, President of France, 1974-1981
Vigdis Finnbogadottir, President of Iceland, 1980-1996
Kenneth Kaunda, President of Zambia, 1964-1991
Mostafa Khalil, Former Prime Minister of the Arab Republic of Egypt
Abdul Salam Majali, Prime Minister of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, 1993-95, 1997-98
Maria de Lourdes Pintasilgo, Prime Minister of Portugal, 1979-1980
José Sarney, President of Brazil, 1985-1990
Shin Hyon Hwak, Prime Minister of Korea, 1979-1980
Kalevi Sorsa, Prime Minister of Finland, 1972-1975, 1977-1979, 1982-1987
Hanna Suchocka, Prime Minister of the Republic of Poland, 1992-1993
George Vassiliou, President of Cyprus, 1988 -1993

Special Guests
Dr. Ziad Abu-Amr, President, Palestinian Council on Foreign Relations
Mr. Abdulaziz Al-Quraishi, Former Governor of Saudi Monetary Agency
Lord Eatwell of Stratton St. Margaret, President, Queens’ College, Cambridge
Dr. Jeffrey Frankel, The Brookings Institution
Dr. Youssef Boutros Ghali, Minister of Economy, Egypt
Mr. Mohamed Issa, Ambassador of Egypt
Dr. Ibrahim Kamel, Egyptian businessman
Dr. Lee, Seung-Yun, former Deputy Prime Minister of Korea
Mr. Takeshi Ohara, Ambassador of Japan to Egypt
Mr. Omar Metwally, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Egypt
Prof. Ahmad Moussalli, American University of Beirut
Mr. Hamdy Saleh, Ambassador of Egypt
Mr. Omar Sery, Ambassador of Egypt
Dr. Magda Shahin, Deputy Assistant Minister for International Economic Affairs, MOFA, Egypt
Mr. Mohamed Shaker, Ambassador of Egypt
Dr. Jian Song, Vice-Chairman, the National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference
Mr. Seiken Sugiura, Chairman, Judiciary Committee, House of Representatives, Japan
Mr. Alexander Yakovlev, President, International Democracy Foundation