27th Annual Plenary Meeting

Opening Ceremony

From 10-13 May 2009, the InterAction Council held its 27th Annual Plenary Meeting in King Abdullah Economic City, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

This meeting comprised of the following sessions:

  • Present State of the World
  • Energy Availability and Economic Growth
  • How to Prevent a New Cold War

List of Participants

IAC Members
1. H.E. Mr. Helmut Schmidt, Honorary Chairman (former Chancellor of Germany)
2. H.E. Mr. Ingvar Carlsson, Co-chairman (former Prime Minister of Sweden)
3. H.E. Mr. Jean Chrétien Co-chairman (former Prime Minister of Canada)
4. H.E. Mr. Andreas van Agt (former Prime Minister of the Netherlands)
5. The Honourable Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi (former Prime Minister of Malaysia)
6. H.E. Mr. James Bolger (former Prime Minister of New Zealand)
7. H.E. Mrs. Gro Harlem Brundtland (former Prime Minister of Norway)
8. H.E. Mr. Yasuo Fukuda (former Prime Minister of Japan)
9. H.E. Mr. Bacharuddin Jusuf Habibie (former President of the Republic of Indonesia)
10. H.E. Mr. Seyed Mohammad Khatami(former President of the Islamic Republic of Iran)
11. H.E. Mr. Lee Hong-Koo (former Prime Minister of Korea)
12. H.E. Mr. AbdelSalam Majali (former Prime Minister of Jordan)
13. Sir James Fitz-Allen Mitchell (former Prime Minister of Saint Vincent and
 the Grenadines)
14. H.E. Mr. Benjamin William Mkapa (former President of Tanzania)
15. H.E. Mr. Olusegun Obasanjo (former President of the Nigeria)
16. H.E. Mr. Andrés Pastrana (former President of Colombia)
17. H.E. Mr. Romano Prodi (former Prime Minister of Italy
18. H.E. Mr. Tung Chee Hwa (former Chief Executive, Hong Kong administration)
19. H.E. Mr. George Vassiliou (former President of Cyprus)
20. H.E. Mr. Franz Vranitzky (former Chancellor of Austria)
21. H.E. Mr. Richard von Weizsäcker (former President of Germany)

Representative of the Custodian of the Two Holly Mosques King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud
22. Prince Khaled Al-Faisal, Governor of Makkah

Associate Members
23. H.E. Sheikh Abdul-Aziz Z.Al-Quraishi, Organising Chairman of the 27th Annual Meeting, former Governor of SAMA (Central Bank), Chairman of Saudi-U.S. Businessmen's Association (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)
24. Prof. Thomas Axworthy, Chair of the Centre for the Study of Democracy,
Queen’s University (Canada)
25. Baroness Jay, Chairperson of the Overseas Development Institute, London (U. K.)
26. Prof. Hans Küng, Professor Emeritus, Tübingen University (Switzerland)
27. H.E. Mr. Seiken Sugiura (former Justice Minister of Japan)

Special Guests
28. Dr. Abdulwahabe Abu-Sulaiman, Professor of Jurisprudence, Member of High Committee of Scholars (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)
29. H.E. Mr.Amr bin Abdullah Al-Dabbagh, Governor, Saudi Arabian General
Investment Authority, SAGIA (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)
30. H.E. Dr. Ahmad Mohamed Ali Al-Madani, President of the Islamic Development Bank (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)
31. Dr. Khaled Almaeena, Editor-in-Chief, Arab News, Senior Columnist, Al-Eqtisadiah, Asharq Al-Awsat, & Gulf News (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)
32. H.E. Dr. Majid A. Al-Moneef, OPEC Governor for Saudi Arabia (Kingdom of
Saudi Arabia)
33. H.E. Dr. Abdulrahman H. Al-Saeed, Advisor – The Royal Court, President of Center for Specialized Studies (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)
34. H.E. Ambassador Tatsuo Arima, Special Envoy of the Government of Japan for the Middle East (Japan)
35. H.E. Mr. Lakhdar Brahimi, Special Adviser to UN Secretary-General
36. Dr. Olav Brundtland (Norway)
37. Grand Mufti Dr. Mustafa Ceric, Islamic Community in Bosnia and Herzegovina
38. Mr. Roger Cohen, Columnist, The New York Times, The International Herald Tribune (USA)
39. Mr. Ahmed Maher El-Sayed, former Foreign Minister (Egypt)
40. Lord Charles Falconer, former Minister of Justice (UK)
41. H.E. Mr. Jack F. Matlock, Jr., former U.S. Ambassador to the Soviet Union
42. Prof. Ahmad S. Moussalli, Professor, American University of Beirut (Lebanon)
43. Prof. Amin Saikal, Director, Centre for Arab and Islamic Studies, Australian National University (Australia)
44. H.E. Mr. Tang Jiaxuan, State Councillor of the People’s Republic of China
45. Prof. Teizo Taya, Professor, Rikkyo University (Japan)
46. H.E. Mr. Faisal H. Trad, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of
the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia to Japan
47. Dr. Dmitri Trenin, Director, Carnegie Moscow Center (Russia)
48. H.E. Dr. Abdul Aziz A. Bin Almas Turkistani, Ambassador Designate of the
Kingdom of Saudi Arabia to Japan
49. Mr. William F. Weld, former Governor of Massachusetts (USA)

The InterAction Council extends its sincere appreciation to the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia for hosting the 27th Annual Plenary Session at the King Abdullah Economic City as well as the Governments of Japan,  Korea and Australia for their continuous generous support. Special appreciation goes to Saudi Arabian General Investment Authority.