32nd Annual Plenary Meeting

Family photo

The InterAction Council held its 32nd Annual Plenary Meeting in Newport, Wales, from 2-5 June 2015.

This meeting was comprised of the following sessions:

  • Present State of the World
  • Global Health Emergencies: Are we Ready?
  • Challenges to the World Order: Are we Entering a new Cold War?


InterAction Council Members

1.     The Rt. Hon. Jean Chrétien, Co-Chairman (former Prime Minister), Canada

2.     H.E. Dr. Franz Vranitzky, Co-Chairman (former Chancellor), Austria

3.     H.E. Mr. Bertie Ahern (former Prime Minister), Ireland

4.     H.E. Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi (former Prime Minister), Malaysia

5.     The Rt. Hon. James Bolger (former Prime Minister), New Zealand

6.     H.E. Mr. Fernando de la Rua (former President), Argentina

7.     H.E. Dr. Abdel Salam Majali (former Prime Minister), Jordan

8.     The Rt. Hon. Sir James Mitchell (former Prime Minister), Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

9.     H.E. Mr. Benjamin Mkapa (former President), Tanzania

10.  H.E. Mr. Olusegun Obasanjo (former President), Nigeria

11.  H.E. Mr. Andrés Pastrana (former President), Colombia

12.  H.E. Mr. Konstantinos Simitis (former Prime Minister), Greece

13.  H.E. Dr. George Vassiliou (former President), Cyprus

14.  H.E. Dr. Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga (former President), Latvia

15.  H.E. Mr. Viktor Yushchenko (former President), Ukraine

16.  H.E. Dr. Ernesto Zedillo Ponce de Léon (former President), Mexico

17.  H.E. Mr. Viktor Zubkov (former Prime Minister), Russia


18.  Dr. Thomas Axworthy, Distinguished Senior Fellow, Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto (Canada)

Associate Members

19.  The Rt. Hon. the Baroness Margaret Jay of Paddington, Former Leader of the House of Lords (U.K.)

20.  Mr. Bill F. Weld, former Governor of Massachusetts (U.S.A.)

Special Guests

21.  Prof. Michael Adler, Professor of Genitourinary Medicine/Sexually Transmitted Diseases, Royal Free and University College Medical School (U.K.)

22.  Mr. Gordon Ashworth, Principal, Gordon Ashworth + Company (Canada)

23.  Prof. Paul Arthur Berkman, Fulbright Distinguished Scholar and Research Professor, Marine Science Institute, University of California Santa Barbara (U.S.A.)

24.  Ms. Jessica Camburn, Director, Enhancing Learning and Research for Humanitarian Assistance (U.K.)

25.  Prof. Onyebuchi Chukwu, Former Minister of Health (Nigeria)

26.  Dr. Rainer Engelhardt, Assistant Deputy Minister/Chief Science Officer, Public Health Agency of Canada (Canada)

27.  Mr. Nicholas Fogg, former Mayor of Marlborough (U.K.)

28.  Prof. Simon Gibson, Chief Executive, Wesley Clover Corporation (U.K.)

29.  Dr. Rebecca Johnson, Executive Director, Acronym Institute for Disarmament Diplomacy (U.K.)

30.  Dr. Joanne Liu, International President, Médecins Sans Frontières (Canada)

31.  The Most Hon. Lord Michael Lothian, Member, House of Lords; Chairman, Global Strategy Forum (U.K.)

32.  Mr. Samer Majali, Former CEO, Gulf Air (Jordan)

33.  Dr. Sawsan Abdul Salam Majali, Secretary General, Jordanian Higher Population Council (Jordan)

34.  Mr. Fouad Makhzoumi, Chairman, Future Group Holdings and Future Pipe Group (Lebanon)

35.  Dr. Brian McCloskey, Director of Global Health, Public Health England (U.K.)

36.  Mr. Stephen Ostrowski, Senior Counsellor for Strategy & Policy Coordination, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (U.S.A.)

37.  Dr. John Wyn Owen, Chair, Health Protection Committee, Wales (U.K.)

38.  Dr. Domitilla Sagramoso, Lecturer in Security and Development, Department of War Studies, King’s College London (Italy)

39.  Mr. Bob Sandford, IAC Senior Water Advisor; EPCOR Chair of the Canadian Partnership Initiative in support of the United Nations Water for Life Decade (Canada)

40.  Dr. Alexander N. Vylegzhanin, Head of the Department of International Law, Moscow State Institute of International Relations (Russia)

41.  Dr. Alexander Zhebin, Member, Russian Political Science Association (Russia)

42.  Dr. Moneef Zou’bi, Director General, Islamic World Academy of Sciences (Jordan)

43.  Dr. Saba K. Zreik, Counselor at Law (Lebanon)